This annually contested match commemorates the life & Hillfoots RFC membership of Bob Marfleet who sadly lost his life in the North Sea, at the age of 33 whilst on duty as a rescue helicopter winchman in 1982.  Bob was originally from London, but relocated with his family to Alloa.  The current Club President, Peter Norman recalls how much Bob enjoyed his rugby.  Read more history here.

The fixture is played at home by the Hillfoots 1st XV against an invited select opposition which changes every year.

The first ever match was played against an invited select side from the North & Midland District at Tillicoultry Public Park on Wednesday 14 September 1983, with a 6pm kick off.  It was a charity match with all proceeds going to the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI).

There is a large board on the main staircase of the Club House recording every winner of the fixture (although, it needs updating!).  An event poster publicising the original 1983 fixture, signed by all the players & officials hangs in the Club House.  A match programme also survives, from which we know the following:-

Hillfoots Select XV

B Hay  – Boroughmuir

J Vallance (Chippy)   – HRFC

D Johston   – Watsonians

B Edwards   – Boroughmuir

A Cant (Andy)   – HRFC

D Wyllis   – Stewarts/Melville

D Morgan   – Stewarts/Melville

A Brewster   – Stewarts /Melville

R Cairney (Budgie)   – HRFC

D Brewster   – Stewarts/Melville

P Norman (Peter) – HRFC   [CAPTAIN]

G Kennedy (Gregor)   – HRFC

J Calder   – Stewarts/Melville

J Calder   – Stewarts/Melville

K Manson (Kev)   – HRFC


D Kenyon (Dave)   – HRFC

A Logan (Aly)   – Stirling County


B Anderson


H Brodie

D Girdwood

North & Midland District

D Graham   – Highland

D Whiteford   – Highland

D Ogilvie   – Morgan FP

G O’Rourke   – Gordonians

C MacGregor   – Gordonians

B Holden   – Aberdeen GSFP

G McKenzie   – Highland

D Wylie   – Glenrothes

D Scott   – Aberdeen GSFP

J Dobie   – Madras FP

C Smyllie   – Gordonians

J Bryce   – Alloa

L Rankin   – Howe of Fife

H Edwards   – Alloa


G Campbell   – Perthshire

C Hay   – Panmure

Back to History of the Club